Independent analysis. Every figure carries its source. Affiliate disclosure

Austin Air HealthMate: the dearest to buy, and $0 in filters across five years

Five years costs about $1,049: $844 to buy, $205 in electricity and nothing in filters, because the filter is rated for five years. There is no AHAM CADR listing at all.

Holistic Green Living is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never affect a score or a ranking. Learn more



7.9
Analysis score

Our verdict

The highest sticker price here, and still cheaper to own across five years than the Alen. The filter is rated for five years, so the consumables line is genuinely zero inside our window. There is no AHAM CADR listing to check the performance against.

Buy it for
anyone who would rather buy once than subscribe, and who does not need a third-party cleaning rate to justify the price
Skip it if
you want a verified CADR figure, because Austin Air does not publish one
Verified performance6.8
Cost to own7.4
Materials & build8.8
Warranty & support8.4
Manufacturer transparency6.5

Strengths

  • Filter rated at five years, so nothing to replace inside a five-year window
  • Publishes power at each of its three speeds, which almost nobody here does
  • Five-year warranty on parts and labour

Drawbacks

  • No AHAM CADR listing at all, so the cleaning rate cannot be verified against a third party
  • The 400 CFM figure is airflow, not a clean air delivery rate
  • Sold through dealers at varying prices rather than at one published price

Where to buy

  • Authorised dealersBest optionAustin Air sells through dealers; prices vary. Not an affiliate link
    $84430-day referral window

Prices captured at publication and checked monthly. Some links earn us a commission, which never affects how a product scores or ranks.

The short answer

  • About $1,049 to own over five years: $844 to buy, $205 in electricity, and nothing at all in filters.
  • The filter is rated for five years, so inside our window there is nothing to replace. That is why the dearest machine here is not the dearest to own.
  • There is no AHAM CADR listing. The 400 CFM figure is airflow, which is not the same measurement.

Who this is for

Buy the HealthMate if you would rather pay once than pay every year, and if you can accept a machine whose cleaning rate you cannot check against anyone but its maker. It is the clearest illustration on this site of why sticker price is a bad proxy: it costs $844, more than any other machine here, and over five years it costs less to own than the $799 Alen.

The reason is a single line in the model below. Austin Air rates its filter at five years. Inside a five-year window, that is zero replacements and zero dollars, against $396 for the Alen and $356 for the Airmega 250.

What the specifications actually say

Here is the finding that matters, and it is an absence. Austin Air does not publish a CADR, and we found no AHAM listing for it. The 400 CFM that appears in its specifications is airflow at the high setting, which is the volume of air the fan moves, not the volume of clean air it delivers. The two are not interchangeable and the difference is the whole point of the CADR test.

Because there is no CADR, we cannot calculate an honest coverage figure for this machine the way we do for every other page on this site. The manufacturer’s 1,500 square feet is stated without a basis. We are not able to check it, and we are not going to repeat it as though we had.

What Austin Air does better than anyone here is power. It publishes draw at all three speeds: 135 W high, 83 W medium, 56 W low. Our model uses the medium figure, because that is a defensible everyday setting and because we finally have one to use.

Verified specifications
SpecificationValueSource
CADRNot publishedNo AHAM listing found; the absence is itself the finding
Airflow (high)400 CFMManufacturer specification; airflow, not CADR
Airflow (medium)200 CFMManufacturer specification
Airflow (low)75 CFMManufacturer specification
Power draw (high)135 WManufacturer specification
Power draw (medium)83 WManufacturer specification
Power draw (low)56 WManufacturer specification
Filter life5 yearsManufacturer specification
Replacement filterabout $200-230Dealer listings, retrieved 31 Aug 2026
Warranty5 years parts and labour; 5-year pro-rated on the filter assemblyManufacturer warranty terms
Manufacturer room size1,500 sq ftManufacturer specification; basis not stated
Price$844Merchant listing at publication

The cost nobody quotes

Five years, at the US average of $0.17 per kWh, running eight hours a day, at the published medium power draw.

What it really costs over 5 years

Total$1,049

Cost of ownership breakdown
CostAmountHow we got it
Purchase price$844Street price at publication
Electricity$205242 kWh/yr at $0.17 per kWh
Total$1,049$210 per year · $0.07 per session

Running costs are 20% of the 5-year total. The sticker price is not the decision.

Electricity priced at $0.17 per kWh, the US residential average. Change the rate in the settings to match your utility. Consumable costs come from the manufacturer's published replacement schedule.

Eighty per cent of what you spend is the purchase, and almost all of the rest is electricity: 242 kWh a year, about $41, $205 across the five years. It is the highest electricity bill in this group, and it still does not come close to what the filter subscriptions cost elsewhere.

One honest caveat on the horizon. Stretch the window to six years and a replacement filter at roughly $200 to $230 lands in it, which puts this machine back above the Airmega 400. Five years is where it wins, and five years is the window this site models.

Certifications, and what they cover

Frequently asked questions

Does the Austin Air HealthMate really need no filters for five years?

Austin Air rates the filter at five years under normal residential use. Inside a five-year window that is zero replacements, which is why its five-year cost is lower than machines that cost less to buy.

What does it cost to run per year?

About $41 in electricity at $0.17 per kWh, running eight hours a day at the published medium draw of 83 W (83 W x 56 h/week x 52 = 242 kWh).

What is its CADR?

There is not one. Austin Air does not publish a CADR and we found no AHAM listing. The 400 CFM in its specifications is airflow at high speed, which measures a different thing.

Why do you not test these yourself?

We are a research publication, not a lab. We verify third-party test data, publish the source next to every number, and calculate the costs manufacturers leave out.

Verified specifications

Verified specifications
Specification Value Source
CADR Not published No AHAM listing found; the absence is itself the finding
Airflow (high) 400 CFM Manufacturer specification; airflow, not CADR
Airflow (medium) 200 CFM Manufacturer specification
Airflow (low) 75 CFM Manufacturer specification
Power draw (high) 135 W Manufacturer specification
Power draw (medium) 83 W Manufacturer specification
Power draw (low) 56 W Manufacturer specification
Filter life 5 years Manufacturer specification
Replacement filter about $200-230 Dealer listings, retrieved 31 Aug 2026
Warranty 5 years parts and labour; 5-year pro-rated on the filter assembly Manufacturer warranty terms
Manufacturer room size 1,500 sq ft Manufacturer specification; basis not stated
Price $844 Merchant listing at publication

How we analysed this product

2sources consulted
Verified31 August 2026

We did not physically test this product. Every figure above was verified against manufacturer documentation, third-party certification listings and retailer specifications on the date shown. Our methodology

Others in this category