Independent analysis. Every figure carries its source. Affiliate disclosure

Alen BreatheSmart 75i: the lifetime warranty requires you to keep paying

Five years costs about $1,331, the most of these six. The Forever Guarantee is real, but it is conditional on registration and an active filter subscription.

Holistic Green Living is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. Commissions never affect a score or a ranking. Learn more



7.6
Analysis score

Our verdict

The highest CADR here and the highest five-year cost, at about $1,331. The Forever Guarantee is real but conditional: it needs registration and an active filter subscription to stay in force.

Buy it for
large open rooms up to about 590 sq ft where you want the highest CADR here and will keep a filter subscription anyway
Skip it if
you intend to buy filters when you feel like it, which voids the guarantee that justifies the price
Verified performance8.8
Cost to own6.2
Materials & build8.6
Warranty & support7.0
Manufacturer transparency7.8

Strengths

  • CADR 375, the highest of the six machines modelled here
  • Publishes power across the full range, 1.36 W to 55 W
  • Energy Star Most Efficient 2025, Quiet Mark and asthma and allergy friendly certification

Drawbacks

  • The lifetime warranty is conditional on registration and an active paid filter subscription
  • $799 is the highest sticker price here bar one
  • Alen publishes CADR as a single figure without naming the particle type

Where to buy

  • Alen directBest optionNot an affiliate link; we are not in Alen's programme
    $79930-day referral window

Prices captured at publication and checked monthly. Some links earn us a commission, which never affects how a product scores or ranks.

The short answer

  • About $1,331 to own over five years: $799 to buy, $136 in electricity, $396 in filters. The most expensive here.
  • The Forever Guarantee is conditional. It requires product registration and an active filter subscription.
  • CADR 375 is the highest of the six, and Alen is the only one here that publishes power across every speed.

Who this is for

The 75i is for a large open room, up to roughly 590 square feet at a genuine 4.8 air changes an hour, where you want the fastest cleaning in this group and you were always going to buy filters on schedule. On those terms it is a good machine and the guarantee is worth something.

On any other terms, read the guarantee before the specifications. Alen’s Forever Guarantee is stated on the product page as applying with product registration and active air filter subscription. A lifetime warranty that lapses when you stop buying consumables is a different product from a lifetime warranty.

What the specifications actually say

CADR is published as 375, the highest figure in this set. Alen does not say which particle type it refers to, which matters: smoke is the hardest of the three and the number most worth quoting. We report it as published rather than assuming it is the smoke figure.

Alen does one thing here that nobody else does. It publishes the full power range, 1.36 W at the bottom to 55 W at the top, instead of a single maximum. Our model uses the 55 W ceiling, so the electricity line below is an upper bound rather than a typical figure.

Verified specifications
SpecificationValueSource
CADR375Alen product page, retrieved 31 Aug 2026; particle type not stated
Coverage claim1,400 sq ft every 30 minutesAlen product page
Coverage at 4.8 ACH586 sq ftCalculated from CADR 375 at an 8 ft ceiling
Power draw1.36 W to 55 W across speedsAlen product page
Filter life (Essential)12-15 months at 24/7 useAlen product page
Filter life (Advanced, Ultimate)7-10 months at 24/7 useAlen product page
Replacement filter (Essential)$99.00Alen product page, retrieved 31 Aug 2026
WarrantyForever Guarantee, with registration and active filter subscriptionAlen product page
CertificationsEnergy Star Most Efficient 2025, Quiet Mark, asthma and allergy friendlyAlen product page
Price$799Merchant listing at publication

The cost nobody quotes

Five years, at the US average of $0.17 per kWh, running eight hours a day, on the Essential filter at a twelve-month interval.

What it really costs over 5 years

Total$1,331

Cost of ownership breakdown
CostAmountHow we got it
Purchase price$799Street price at publication
Electricity$136160 kWh/yr at $0.17 per kWh
Filters & consumables$396$79 per year
Total$1,331$266 per year · $0.09 per session

Running costs are 40% of the 5-year total. The sticker price is not the decision.

Electricity priced at $0.17 per kWh, the US residential average. Change the rate in the settings to match your utility. Consumable costs come from the manufacturer's published replacement schedule.

Sixty per cent of this total is the machine itself, which is unusual in this category and is the one genuinely good thing about its cost structure: you are not being fed a cheap box and an expensive habit. But $1,331 is still the highest five-year figure of the six, and $282 more than the Austin Air, which costs more to buy.

Choose the Advanced or Ultimate filters instead of the Essential and the interval falls to seven to ten months, which pushes the consumables line up by roughly half again. The cheapest filter is the one Alen quotes.

Certifications, and what they cover

Frequently asked questions

Is the Alen Forever Guarantee really a lifetime warranty?

It is stated on Alen’s product page as applying with product registration and an active air filter subscription. If you stop the subscription, the condition is no longer met.

What does the BreatheSmart 75i cost to run per year?

About $27 in electricity at $0.17 per kWh, running eight hours a day, using the published 55 W maximum (55 W x 56 h/week x 52 = 160 kWh). Real use will be lower.

What room size does it really cover?

About 586 square feet at 4.8 air changes an hour, calculated from the published CADR of 375.

Why do you not test these yourself?

We are a research publication, not a lab. We verify third-party test data, publish the source next to every number, and calculate the costs manufacturers leave out.

Verified specifications

Verified specifications
Specification Value Source
CADR 375 Alen product page, retrieved 31 Aug 2026; particle type not stated
Coverage claim 1,400 sq ft every 30 minutes Alen product page
Coverage at 4.8 ACH 586 sq ft Calculated from CADR 375 at an 8 ft ceiling
Power draw 1.36 W to 55 W across speeds Alen product page
Filter life (Essential) 12-15 months at 24/7 use Alen product page
Filter life (Advanced, Ultimate) 7-10 months at 24/7 use Alen product page
Replacement filter (Essential) $99.00 Alen product page, retrieved 31 Aug 2026
Warranty Forever Guarantee, with registration and active filter subscription Alen product page
Certifications Energy Star Most Efficient 2025, Quiet Mark, asthma and allergy friendly Alen product page
Price $799 Merchant listing at publication

How we analysed this product

2sources consulted
Verified31 August 2026

We did not physically test this product. Every figure above was verified against manufacturer documentation, third-party certification listings and retailer specifications on the date shown. Our methodology

Others in this category